Triangle Area Overview

"The Triangle", is a region in the Piedmont of North Carolina in the United States, anchored by the cities of Raleigh, Durham, and Chapel Hill. The region is comprised of two Metropolitan Statistical areas, Raleigh-Cary, NC, and Durham-Chapel Hill, NC. Its estimated 2010 total population was 2,053,317. The research universities of Duke University, North Carolina State University, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill are located in this region. 

The "Triangle" name was cemented in the public consciousness in the 1950s with the creation of Research Triangle Park, home to numerous high-tech companies and enterprises. Although the name is commonly used to refer to the cities, "The Triangle" originally referred to the universities, whose research facilities and the educated workforce they provide are the major attraction for businesses located in the Park. The Triangle's population is among the most educated in the United States, with one of the highest number of Ph.D.s per capita. The region should not be confused with "The Triad", which is the region directly west of the Triangle. Most of the Triangle is represented by, and closely associated with, the second, fourth and thirteenth congressional districts..

This section of our site was designed to provide newcomers with helpful information -- organized by county & then by city -- about the Triangle.

The Triangle Links & Info

Research Triangle Region Info
State government

Public Schools

Wake County
Durham County
Orange County
Johnston County
Chatham County
Granville County
Franklin County